Mars, The Bringer of War

The Planets

Composer : Gustav Holst
Title : The Planets
Period : 20th Century

The Planets Op. 32 is a seven-movement orchestral suite by the English composer Gustav Holst, written between 1914 and 1917. The first movement "Mars, the Bringer of War", is marked allegro and is in a relentless 54 ostinato for most of its duration. It opens quietly, the first two bars played by percussion, harp and col legno strings. The music builds to a quadruple-forte, dissonant climax. Although Mars is often thought to portray the horrors of mechanised warfare, it was completed before the First World War started.

Audition excerpts | Euphonium Probespiel