Flute Concerto No. 1

I. Allegro Maestoso

Composer : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Title : Flute Concerto
Period : Classicism

The Flute Concerto No. 1 in G majorK. 313, was written in 1778 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Commissioned by the Dutch flautist Ferdinand De Jean in 1777, Mozart was supposed to provide four flute quartets and three flute concertos, yet he only completed two of the three concertos, K. 313 being the first. The Andante for Flute and Orchestra K. 315 may have been written as an alternative slow movement for this concerto, but there is no extant manuscript and it is therefore difficult to ascertain Mozart's intentions clearly (this also means that current editions are based on the earliest editions rather than an autograph).