II. Intermezzo | Agnus Dei

L'Arlesienne Suite No.2

Composer : Georges Bizet
Title : L'Arlesienne N.2
Period : Romanticism

II. Agnus Dei, Intermezzo; Second Movement from L'Arlesienne Suite N.2 by Georges Bizet.

L'Arlesienne was composed as incidental music to Alphonse Daudet's play of the same name, usually translated as The Girl from Arles. The incidental music has survived and flourished, however. It is most often heard in the form of two suites for orchestra.L'Arlesienne Suite No. 2, also written for full orchestra, was arranged and published in 1879, four years after Bizet's death, by Ernest Guiraud, using Bizet's original themes (although not all of them were from the L'Arlesienne incidental music). The second suite is generally credited to Bizet since he wrote the themes and the basic orchestration.

Play Along for Flute 1 & 2